The Eternal City and beyond

Returned from Rome Tuesday morning and I am off to Brussels and Amsterdam tomorrow.

Rome was perfect. small crowds, nice weather with light rain, and endless pasta, fired pizza, and sweet tiramisu.

Just some of the sites I saw were the Vatican City (Honestly, if I could have, I would have just laid done in St.Peter’s Basilica. Otherwise, there is no possible way to take in all of the golds, curves,and shadows of that cavernous and sacred places), the Colosseum, the Forum, Basilica of St. Paul (one of my favorite places), the Spanish steps (have an interesting story there), the Trevi fountain (tossed my coin and took a sip of the lucky water), Gianicolo hill at night (beautiful, peaceful view of the entire city), Piazza Navona (where the incredible 4 rivers fountain resides), and the Pantheon.

I stayed at nice hostel for the price, Hostel Beauty on Via Napoleon III. I shared a room with two friends that had a big widow that opened up to a busy street and colorful apartments across the way. The hostel receptionists were all nice, they gave us maps that had tiny pictures of all the main monuments in Rome. I took this map everywhere, circling my visits as I went. I also met really interesting residents at the hostel. A friendly and quirky Italian who had just moved from Florence to Rome who witnessed my first bite of Roman lasagna  and two students who are currently studying in the Czech Republic and they were in Rome for the weekend. I went with them on my last night to a warm and classic Irish pub. go figure? Irish pub in Rome? The pub had a live Irish singer who played the guitar and sang about the potato famine in front of a great crowd.  I tried my first creamy Irish Ale, suggested by a friend. Definitely a man’s drink but I am getting used to/ able to enjoy beers/ales. Though being a girl, I think  I still prefer wine or sex on the beach. 

Overall great weekend.

Favorite foods were

– at Da Zi Umberto in Trastevere. I had baccala – fried cod fillets and Carbonara pasta. best I have ever had.

-Gnocchi with three cheese and seafood risotto at Ristorante Rosa Rosae

-every pizza and cone of gelato in the city

Image

pizza

Image

Colosseum

Image

walking around the forum. little alice in wonderland Image

forum at night

IMG_0274

gallerie of maps, Vatican museum     IMG_0252

The Pantheon, makes you feel very minuscule.

IMG_0240

Trevi Fountain. coin toss and tourists.

This was my second time in Rome, so cheers to the Trevi.

2 thoughts on “The Eternal City and beyond

Leave a Reply

